TJCOG Regional Summit 2017


Presentations & Breakout Sessions

Missed the Regional Summit? Greater Raleigh Chamber President Adrienne Cole led a dynamic panel discussion on the limitations (or assumed limitations) of business in urban and rural communities. Facilitators initiated reflection and "visioning" from attendees on the future of our region. Experts on affordable housing, economic development, aging in place and more spoke about the benefits of regional strategies and the importance of rural-urban diversity to solve a variety of challenges.


View all speaker PowerPoint presentations here.


Congrats to the 2017 Region J Award Recipients

The TJCOG Board of Delegates has established four awards that will highlight individuals, both elected and non-elected officials that are promoting regionalism and collaboration in the Triangle J region. Each award represents a set of core values that together contribute to the success of our region and local governments.

  • Lynn Thompson, Town of Southern Pines, 2017 Region J Vision Award: This award recognizes non-elected officials who excel in excellence, innovation, collaboration and leadership in problem-solving among local communities and their partners.
  • Virginia Gray, Town of Wendell, 2017 Region J Public Service Award: This award recognizes a state or local elected official for outstanding service to the region.
  • James George, Town of Smithfield, Brian R. Benson Memorial Award for Community Appearance: This award honors physical projects, individual, or community efforts or policies and programs that improve overall community appearance.
  • Tom White, NC State University, 2017 Regional Advocate Award: This award, given in memory of Garland Herbert Stout, recognizes individuals who have given their time, talent and skills to the Triangle J Region, its communities, and to TJCOG programs and activities.